UF student tasered at John Kerry speech

September 18, 2007 at 6:20 pm 2 comments

Yesterday at UF, Senator and former Presidential hopeful John Kerry came to speak. When student Andrew Meyer went to ask a question the below event ensued. I was not at the event, and while I don’t necessarily condone Meyer’s bombastic tactics towards addressing the Senator, I view the below events as completely unwarranted and frankly reprehensible. Judge for yourself:

Entry filed under: Andrew Meyer, college, gainesville, news, politics, uf, University of Florida.

In Defense of the Hookup and my Column How Do You Ask For What You Really Want In Bed?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dario  |  September 19, 2007 at 4:35 am

    I belive this is completely unacceptable. Whatever the guy said, I don’t think it should have ended up like that.
    I live in Europe and I am not American. I just noticed that in America police abuse too often their power. Maybe because of the weapons poliy there?
    What shocked me most is that no one took an action. In the video it’s clear that some students sitting there were laughing and I just think they were all not aware that with that taser, they were tasering the rights of American. Yes, a girl was shouting “why are you doing this?”, but no one else (at least at that moment) supported Andrew.
    I think in America you’re all a “bit” brainwashed. Because in a way it seems to me that you’re all afraid of the governament and their forces and you accept whatever it’s done to the citizens. Why? Because they tought you it’s the only way to solve things.
    I can keep on going on with this, but I will stop here. I don’t have anything against Americans, I do have a lot to say on their governament and their policies.

    Reply
  • 2. Anonopotomous  |  September 19, 2007 at 3:38 pm

    What is frightening are the number of US people that think that this guy ‘deserved’ to be apprehended and tasered.

    Incredible. But this matches the mentality that cheers on US bombs as they rain down on Bahgdad neighborhoods maiming children for life.

    Sick, sadistic, imperialist a-holes. It will be sheer joy to watch the US decline as a ‘world leader’–couldn’t happen to a more deserving fascist nation of consumerist sheep.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


naked on university avenue:

a gainesville girl's story

calendar

September 2007
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Contact Me

gatorgrrl99@gmail.com

