Saying Goodbye to the Single Life

September 6, 2007 at 4:48 pm 2 comments

I had an entirely different column written and submitted to my editor a few hours before my Tuesday 5 p.m. deadline. It was about trusting your gut when it comes to the dating realm.

Truth is, I was denying mine.

Over the last few weeks I have casually been seeing a new guy. Casually would be an understatement. When he texts, I roll my eyes. Calls me, I cringe. Tries to kiss me, I back away.

I’ve said it before, but I’ll say it again: I am completely terrified of letting go of my single status.

What’s weird is that I always know what guidance to give my friends regarding dating or how to maneuver any sexual situation. I’m the go-to gal when answers are needed about your relationship.

So why can I never heed my own advice?

Why is beginning a relationship so scary?

I have completely engineered the entire situation with my new man. When I am out and drunk and want some attention, I call him. When I need a large object in my house moved, he’s the one to do it. When I’m feeling bad about myself, he’s there.

Yes, I’m a horrible bitch. You can send me hate letters.

Thing is, my new guy is incredibly nice. He epitomizes the “good guy” we all search for. He is responsive, communicates constantly, and is beloved by my friends. I have no doubt that he would be here for me.

Having to rely on someone else and to give up my thrill seeking, happy-go-lucky ways is still petrifying to me. But perhaps growing up means not being so inherently selfish?

Maybe when I wrote about trusting your instincts over the opinions of everyone else I failed to realize that I was being hypocritical.

Relationships cannot exist in a bubble; they are subject to the scrutiny of the outside world. Believing in what you have with another person is the only remedy. No one knows what happens in those private hours at night, and no one has to.

My friend cornered me the other day. She likes a guy who she never imagined she would. He’s completely different from her, and she’s completely smitten. Afraid to admit her admiration to others, she asked me what to do.

“It’s so simple,” I sagely suggested, “YOU like him, what more do you need?”

I will acknowledge, like most things, it’s much easier said then done.

For some of us, myself included, the baggage of past relationships makes it difficult to trust. For others it takes strength to accept that someone wants to care for you. Still some are overly concerned about what their peers think.

My initial column was correct in many regards. Trusting your instincts is arguably one of the most difficult aspects of dating. It’s also the most necessary.

There is never a connect-the-dots formula to finding happiness, but what’s beautiful about the process is that sometimes unexpected things happen.

Sometimes columns need rewrites.

Entry filed under: being single, college, columns, dating, opinion piece, relationships.

supersized news for 9.4.07 Hookups: Just Another Item on the Sexual Pu Pu Platter?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jennybaby  |  September 9, 2007 at 12:36 pm

    trusting your instincts are especially difficult if you’re afraid of getting hurt. sometimes i think i’m more in love with the idea of being in a relationship than actually being in a relationship…

    Reply
  • 2. gatorgrrl  |  September 12, 2007 at 11:16 pm

    Jennybaby I think you are not alone. Indeed, i would gamble that a good majority of people are more in love with the idea of being in a relationship then actually being in one. sometimes, however, i think that maybe our love of that idea is only exceeded by our fear of being alone.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


naked on university avenue:

a gainesville girl's story

calendar

September 2007
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Contact Me

gatorgrrl99@gmail.com

